All lovey dovey

Ok, it was pretty cool when the animated heroines found true love and lived happily ever after, but what always appealed to me deeply, as a child, was their interaction with the surrounding woodland critters. In some ways, I feel that my childhood longings to be more in touch with nature are being fulfilled.

Stepping outside and letting Daniel inside from his nighttime wanderings, a hungry raccoon rushes over to me happily and sweetly as a puppy, waiting for me to spread the feed about. Overhead, as is usual this time of year, long rows of blackbirds fly noisily overhead, and I notice that several Ibis have landed on the pine tree in my neighbors yard. Squirrels show themselves and come to have breakfast and drink the fresh water and at least thirty doves have appeared and are taking turns diving down for seed.

I notice there are more woodpeckers than in years prior and am glad they are finding places here to nest. They dart about the grapefruit tree and play hide and seek with my ever present camera. The bluejays are more reticent than usual, and I notice they have been ousted momentarily by the small blackbirds that have taken residence for the winter. Atop the highest pine, a solitary mockingbird sings a piercing tune and a family of Cardinals try to avoid my sight darting quickly in and out of the hedge.

Seemingly without reason, they all take flight and scatter in every direction (a photo I always miss) and I notice above that the falcon is swiftly soaring overhead, calling to his mate who is echoing his call from a hidden branch. Turning to go inside, I notice a pair of sandhill cranes flying over, while much higher above them buzzards circle their daytime rounds.

When I can add to that occasional toads, frogs, snakes, lizards, armadillos, possums and cool bugs, I have to say I am feeling a bit in Eden. If you saw how small an area I am talking about, you would be very surprised at the amount of life here. I'm pretty glad my neighbors have not taken me up on "checking out my blip" (a response to "why the camera?" "What's there to take photos of here?") because they would want to probably have my head over my morning ritual of giving to those who give so much joy to me. Most people I know even think that having toads poop on their patios is an affront. God forbid nature should get in our way at all. I have great neighbors, don't get me wrong, but not everyone shares my views on our obligation to in some way help those who have been displaced.

Some do though. I take inspiration from Francis of Assisi, when he said, "Not to hurt our humble brethren [the animals] is our first duty to them, but to stop there is not enough. We have a higher mission: to be of service to them whenever they require it."

I also resonate with his sentiment; "If you have men who will exclude any of God's creatures from the shelter of compassion and pity, you will have men who will deal likewise with their fellow men." Ed really likes that one too.

Anyway, I am just glad to have some nature around, especially since I am still having to nurse the broken toe and can't get out walking. Oh, but I can walk to the fridge mind you...


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.