1638 storms Tenterden Bank on last train of day

.... watched by the Cranbrook Road crossing keeper. Spoilt for choice today. I was on crossing gate duty at Northiam station all day. Beautiful morning, plenty of activity trains coming and going including the Sunday Lunch Pullman. Elegance as well as dereliction on show with the beautiful Pullman coaches and sidings with old coach frames as a sad reminder of the most of the vintage stock on heritage lines.

One interesting incident occurred whilst I was waiting to open the gates for a departure, an old tractor appeared coming down the road within a line of cars I was waiting to pass by. Then another and another; in the end over 40 tractors of various vintages followed by a long line of motorists stuck behind delayed the departure by nearly 10 minutes.

We've a special event on the railway this Easter, Bricks Britannia, a Lego exhibition with an 8 metre model of the Flying Scotsman as well as loads of other models. This weekend was the first couple of days of 21 of this exhibition, something which, I'm sure, would be of interest to Legodude.

Going home at the end of the day I kept meeting the last train of the day as the line crossed my route home. First at Rolvenden and secondly at Cranbrook Road where I was able to get out and capture this shot of my favourite loco powering its way up the bank. That's one of the turns I do on the railway when not in the signal box at Wittersham Road.

A quick turnaround at home ready to get out to see Feast of Fiddlesat the start of their 24th spring tour at the Brook Theatre, Chatham. Have seen them nearly every year this century and they didn't disappoint. If you get the chance, look up their website and book your tickets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.