Licensed to Chill

By 007Roo

Out of

Retirement well for today... you may well understand when I tell you the story.

As most of you know I volunteer for therapy dogs nationwide a non profit making charity where owners take their temperament assessed dogs into various places to visit people that may well benefit from a few hours of chill time.

You also all know that in March I made the hard decision to retire Roo from his work.

P is the placement officer for therapy dogs nationwide and last night an email was sent asking if there was any chance of a dog going into a school today as sadly a little boy 10 years old had lost a parent.
The school being in Birmingham which is 45 mins from me .

I could hardly refuse but I wasn't taking one dog I'd take two.

I knew Bean would be a pleaser and I knew Roo would be perfect. So this morning when I put on my uniform and got the dogs gear ready Roo was excited.

When we got to the school I was met by the head master( it felt very odd meeting a head master that was so young)


I went to his office for a briefing and was told that the little boy had lost his mother on Monday, he had gone to wake her on the morning and she had died in her sleep, losing a parent in my teens I knew how hard it's going to be for this poor boy.

After our chat I was taken to the library and children came in, in groups of four. Jacob came in with the second group but stayed with me all morning cuddling Bean and fussing Roo finally calling him his Bro!!
A little girl asked me who was my favourite as she cuddled Roo I whispered it was Roo so she asked me if she could keep Bean then:)

I was given a school dinner, boy they have changed since my days at school no pink custard!
Whilst I went to the canteen to get my lunch the head master and children dog sat for me.
When I returned the head came up to me and said I can't stop looking at Roo he's just got something about him, I've never seen such a chilled out dog.

They will be emailing me photos and when I get them I'll let you see, but I think we helped in such a sad time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.