A MIMent In Time

By justmim

Think!

Currently wading my way through neuroplasticity and the joys of short-term presynaptic potentiation (STP) and long-term postsynaptic potentiation (LTP).

Flicking through the book first time round I initially thought these were two potential options for a process, however it turns out that there's a whole process of coactivation going on between STP and LTP.

I think.

Google Chrome is highlighting all mention of supposed spelling errors up there which just reaffirms my thinking that neuroplasticity really isn't English at all.

Even so, it's all very clever. And the go-to book for OT & stroke* tells me that understanding this will help in knowing the appropriateness of a variety of interventions for individual clients while also being able to justify said interventions. Evidence-based practice. Which multiple books, university lectures and articles all tell me is important. So...

Lost? Good, me too :]

Thoroughly bored? I don't blame you ;) congratulations if you got this far!

Run, up & raring, dishes, study, breathe, study, lunch, dance, study, dance...study. Not the worst of study days as study days go! :]

Celebratory custard cream (which, I believe, fits in with the behavioural frame of reference) and its back to study I go!

Ok...one last little dance :D



*Helpfully titled Occupational Therapy and Stroke...it's edited by Judi Edmans and really is quite helpful. If you're that way inclined (i.e. if you are studying/working in occupational therapy and particularly stroke...) then give it a look :]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.