Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

The Gift Relationship

Back in 1970 this was the title of a seminal work of social policy by a famous liberal writer Richard Titmus. The sub-title was "From Human Blood to Social Policy" and the central thesis was that that which is freely given is, ironically, infinitely more valuable than the which has a price. Ergo, money makes things cheap, giving for nothing is hugely valuable.

Anyway this is a pile of gifts, all of which I received this week. The small box of exquisite chocolates came from former colleague Mr H who left last week and who I shall quite likely never see again. The dairy milk mini egg was from one of our board members who is always very generous. And the cake was a gift from one of the students who presented on their learning experiences at work today, hand baked and freely given.

So today I was actually looking forward to going to work, and had a good day; and it is fitting that a lovely sunny day saw me celebrating not cake or chocolate but my relationships with people for who gifts are not a form of currency or transaction, but a symbol. That which is freely given should never be underestimated.

TSM and I had a lovely lunch by the river in the sunshine. And in the evening we finished our decorating, framed some pictures, then met old friends in the local pub. All in all a rather good day, full of gifts, some of which can be pictured and many of which cannot. I'm a lucky man ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.