A Taste For Tulips

There have been odd activities in the Flum garden of late.
A few days ago we noticed that about half the weed in the pond had been dragged out and draped by the edge - I thought Miss Flum must have done it, she thought I had. A stone has been dislodged and there is now an oily sheen on the surface of the water.

Then a couple of days later I discovered that the Tulipa 'Blumex', that live in a large pot, had been excavated, leaving a scattering of limp leaves and a large cavity where the compost should be. They were just beginning to show buds.

Today I found that the tulips in the border have been dug up in a similar manner, and the stems, complete with flower buds, left lying beside the holes. These I have collected and placed up to their necks in water in the hope of resuscitation - I'll report any progress anon.

This poses several questions, among them, 1)who is the culprit? 2)Is there more than one? 3) what were they after? 4 )what will they attack next?

Foxes and squirrels have been around for years but this is the first time such damage has occurred. I'm Flummoxed.

On a better note, this afternoon we took a walk round the loch at Beecraigs, where a friendly goose invited us to join it for a paddle. Sadly, we had to decline, but it appears as an extra in this blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.