Cigs

By Cigs

Duddingston Road

The lack of a dearth continues....! 

As I slumped onto the bed last night, exhausted after a sprint home on the bike from town, I reached for my bed time cup of tea and the phone fizzed or buzzed or shook or something. 

I casually looked at it, expecting a good night message from her who I had recently bade good night to on her doorstep, but no. A Facebook post appeared. Showing the insides of the soon to be no more Portobello High School. 

As with the Broughton Road one of the other day - from slight day dream to bolt upright in an instant. anth had alerted me to an orange Cigs on a classroom wall now being shown to the world as the guts of the old school come spilling out for all to see.

I toyed with the idea of donning lycra and clambering back aboard the bike, oh I did. But I didn't. I slept. But set the alarm for dawn. You see, I'm away straight from work today and not back til late Monday. Now I know it's a bank holiday weekend, but the demolition is behind schedule so I didn't want to leave it to chance. I couldn't go away and hope that in 4 days time the building will not be flattened.

So it was that I brushed the sleep from my eyes and on autopilot got out the door and onto the bike and headed off eastwards, a tail wind gently nudging me to a PB on Pier Place Sprint on Strava. 

By the time I got to Porty I was up for this; quickly bounded over the fence; snaffled a shot and was home again in time to log on shortly after 7. 
Dated 16; with Keft Deli and Loud also name checked. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.