Seeing is believing

By hoover

Roadhead, Cumbria

I've never been to Roadhead before, and I wasn't supposed to go today. I was supposed to go to Roweltown, but it appears that Roweltown is somewhat of a Brigadoon village.

I saw a dressing table advertised on the internet last week and arranged to collect it from the seller today. According to mapquest.co.uk, it would take 1hour 4 mins to get to Roweltown. Only problem is, Roweltown does not have any signs to even let you know it is Roweltown, and I have now learnt that Roweltown covers an absolutely massive area of countryside. Also, mapquest was completely useless.

After 2 hours of searching a very empty countryside I finally saw the first human. He had never heard of Roweltown and it didn't appear on his map.

I phoned a friend. She suggested I ask a local for help. The only locals in sight appeared to be a sheep or a horse. This blip was my view as I tried to see a landmark or sign of life (other than wildlife).

After a lot more driving I spotted a farmer on a tractor, so left the car and chased him on foot. I gather they don't see many women in these parts, it was like I'd skipped into Royston Vasey.

I finally came across a man and a dog who were of help. It was another half hour drive, but I eventually got my dressing table.

Time to get a sat nav I gather!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.