Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Last of the Easter Eggs

Both of us went to the gym this morning, though my session was not as long (or as thorough) as JR's. Ann, Molly Collie's mum popped in after her swim.

JR met an ex-colleague for a coffee this afternoon, while Archie and I went up the hill and then visited Uncle A. But it was not an ordinary day on the hill...

The place was still full of eggshells and bits of hard boiled egg that other dogs hadn't eaten up. Archie got very excited. In fact, he was running around quite far away, in a frantic search for something. If it wasn't impossible, I'd've said he had smelled (smelt?) a bitch on heat. But he wouldn't have a clue about such things, so it wasn't that. But he suddenly took off as fast as he could, away down the hill towards the Duck Pond. I blew my whistle, which he 'didn't hear', but there was nothing for it but to run stagger off after him.

Right down the (steep) hill I went, asking anyone I met if they'd seen him. I got to the bottom and stood for a while, listening to the cars on the busy road nearby. No sign of him. Then I went back up the (very steep) hill. Jings, I was puggled. I kept stopping to catch my breath blow my whistle.

Then I saw a couple at the top of the slope with him on a lead! They saw me coming, and put two and two together. I waved 'thanks' to them and blew my whistle, and the prodigal son came scampering back. They continued their walk up the hill before I could get to the top and thank them. I must get my mobile number on his collar, instead of the landline number.

Naughty boy. He's never done that before on the hill We've always trusted him off the lead with his walkers. Hmmmm...

This is the last of the Easter Eggs (the nest is edible too). I am all chocolated out. It's going to take a long time to work those Easter calories off. I only used up 13 of them on my bike ride round the Loire this morning. More, much more, tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.