Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Nine floors!

I went along to my NHS gym class, and informed them that I wasn't going to attend any more - I'd rather someone who needed the place more than me had it. There are only about five of us, as it's a small 'gym'. I had a fair whizz on the bike without wobbling - a mere month ago I could not get right round without squawking. I am beginning to see some light, but the tunnel is still stretching quite far into the distance.

JR went to the gym when I came home, then we all went up the hill. It was very windy at the top! My phone Activity Tracker noted that I had climbed 'nine floors' whatever that means.

We walked back down the hill, which is good for me - I used to find it so difficult - but it's a gentle slope and it really gives my knees a workout.

JR and Archie walked home (I drove). He showed no signs of repeating his exciting escapade of the other day when he suddenly took off into the distance. But he's got my mobile number on his collar now.

I came home and enjoyed an apple and cheese without Archie going crazy and drooling over me, and watched a few more VEEPs. I shouldn't like it - it's full of awful people and non-stop shouty, very rude, sweary dialogue... but there are some very funny moments, especially when the characters become familiar. It's an American version of 'The Thick of It' (written by Iannucci) which I didn't watch because it was full of awful people and non-stop shouty, very rude, sweary dialogue... I may need to watch it now.

Sweetcorn fritters for tea! Yum yum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.