Unusual times

Jimbo is growing up, becoming more independent and going out more. I have to remind myself fairly frequently that at his age, I was off out and about all day with my friends and back then,clearly there were no mobile phones, no way to keep in touch.

In fact, if I remember rightly, when I was his age, I used to wander off down to the off licence at 8.30 in the evening to get snacks before bed!

So yes, I need to let him loose a little. Let him go, trust that he will be safe and sensible, and that if he needs me he will ring.

In the spirit of doing so, Corin and I went out for lunch at a very nice pub a few miles away, taking advantage of the sunshine and a couple of free hours. I managed to avoid ten minute phone checks and after having a soft drink, decided that maybe a drinkie was in order.

I rarely drink in the day time, in fact,during term time, I never have more than a few units of alcohol a week. I was getting through my alcoholic ginger beer quite nicely and then started reading the label, to find that the bottle contained 2units. Fortunately Corin was driving, because I won't drink at all if I am behind the wheel. Good job he was. The combination of sunshine, relaxing a little and having a drink quite quickly made me feel sleepily tipsy!

We came home and I zonked on the sofa for an hour.

However, I did not waste the day. I have done my domestic duties and the shopping. Tomorrow will be prepping for work and doing some more data stuff ready for Monday.

Busy week next week, with hospital pre-op on Wednesday, funeral on Thursday as well as wedding rehearsal for my friend on Thursday night, then the wedding on Saturday and a day of photography. Two hours down time today was well timed.

I would like a normal life. If my lottery numbers come in, I think I will retire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.