Snow! (Day 718)

It started to snow as I wandered up the hill with the dogs this morning. Tiny flakes didn't look that threatening. I didn't expect that it would last long. Back at home, as I sat drinking coffee, the flakes got a lot bigger, and the snow began to settle. By the time I was heading out to work there was a couple of inches of snow on the road.
The van is pretty rubbish in the snow and it took me half an hour to drive through to Stromness. The snow continued to fall and the road was fairly slippery. Turning off the main road I managed about 100 yards before I could go no further and I turned and headed home. The customer was quite understanding. The drive home was difficult.
I spent a little while in the shed making a start on a little carving, and after lunch my beautiful wife took me and the dogs to Stromness for a walk. Our timing was perfect, and the sun came out as we turned to head back to the car. We met Mum and Dad and walked back along the shore with them. Hoy looked magnificent blanketed in snow under clearing skies and bright sunshine. I couldn't choose between the two shots today, both of which have HV and my mum and dad in them.
We returned home and I finished off my carving. It has been a great day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.