Yesterday lunch time my sister sent me a text to say there were Paralympic tickets available. After a short conversation, she'd bought us Table Tennis tickets for Friday & I headed off out for the afternoon safe in the knowledge i finally had tickets. When I got in at about 18:30 I thought I'd have a quick look if there were any tickets left. I saw tickets to athletics & I was convinced they'd be unavailable but to my surprise they appeared in my basket and the system gave my two minutes to confirm that I wanted them. A hasty phone call to my sister & 5 tickets were booked an paid for.

We had to most amazing day (despite the very early alarm call) where one of the highlights was watching Richard Whitehead claim gold for TeamGB in the men's T42 200m final. He was pretty much at the back of the field from when the gun went off, the difference in disabilities was apparent from the start position that the athletes took & not being able to bend down into the blocks is a distinct disadvantage. But as he came of the bend & ran down the home straight there was no stopping him. I was shocked to read when I got home that the 200m is quite a new event for him, he is known for being a marathon runner but there is no T42 Marathon race in the Paralympics so he switched events.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.