Simply Me

By Suze981

Portobello Cemetery

My run this morning took me to Portobello Cemetery. This Cemetery houses regular graves and also some Commonwealth war graves. Specifically sailors and soldiers who lost their lives in World War 1.

I've often ran past, but I thought this morning was the day to run a couple of laps. I wasn't sure if I was allowed in, let alone run in it. But I went anyway. Out of respect I turned off my iPod and read the gravestones as I ran past.

I like graveyards, they're always quiet and peaceful and I like the idea of remembering people, or even reading about those you didn't know. It's a nice thought.

I don't really mind what happens to me when I die. I'm not religious and I believe, on death, we simply cease to exist. I'll probably see if I can donate my body for medical research or learning - after organ donation of course. I like the thought of it being used for something - after all, I won't need it anymore!

I like this shot. I like that the bodies buried under these stones might have helped this tree to grow.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.