The view

Have I ever told the story of how I bought my house? I don't think I have. It was in 2000. I was divorced and living in Beetham but working during the week in Edinburgh. I had realised very early on that my daughters didn't like hearing about me missing them, so at the weekends I would tell them upbeat tales about my week, introducing my friends and colleagues to them via anecdotes and stories. 

I would tell them about my friend and manager ("Bossman Cam!"), my Swedish chum Pera (although some of the stories about him had to be carefully edited) and the rest of the cast of characters who helped me through my days away. And doing this - finding stories to tell the girls - actually improved my life and happiness; it was a motivation for me to get out and enjoy myself.

I used to finish work early on a Friday and drive down from Edinburgh to Kirkby Lonsdale and one week I arrived a little too early to collect the girls. As I was driving around, I noticed a house for sale on New Road. My ex and I had looked 'round it once (although heaven knows why; we had no money at the time. Or ever, in fact). So, I checked who was selling it and then went into the estate agents to ask about the property only to be told it was under offer. 

I suppose I might have simply turned around and left but I still had some time to spare, so I looked at the other houses advertised on the wall. I saw one near the girls' school, which was just about in my price range and asked if I could be shown 'round. Well, I loved it immediately; it was spacious, with enough bedrooms for all of us, plus an open fire, which was important to me.

I liked it so much, I asked the guy to wait while I went to collect the girls and brought them back to see it. They loved it, too, and the following Monday morning I rang up at nine o'clock to buy it. 

Three things always occur to me when I think about getting the house. Firstly, how ridiculously cheap it was compared to house prices now. This was seventeen years ago but you could only get a two bedroomed flat for the same amount now. 

Secondly, how absurd it was that I was able to get a mortgage. The mortgage came in two parts: a secured part (for the house itself) and an unsecured part, which cleared some credit card bills and, mindbendingly, paid the deposit. 

And thirdly, there's the fact that I didn't notice the view! It was only when I came back the following week that I stopped focussing on the rooms and looked out the back. This was the view, this morning.

****
-3.2kg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.