It's a long way to the Gold Coast

Mel Coutts, the other half of Scotland's women's beach volleyball team aiming to qualify for next year's Commonwealth Games, training on Portobello Beach this afternoon.
On the Prom I unexpectedly bumped into G, a fellow student from my days at Stevenson - all the more unexpected as I thought she was living back in the Czech Republic these days! She still is but is over here for a few weeks. Great to catch up with her. I remember us working together in the studio doing portraits of each other on the NQ course, almost exactly nine years ago. And she took some great documentary pictures of a protestors' camp on the edge of Edinburgh trying to prevent a new road from being built. Pictures that brought to my mind images of soldiers' camps from the American Civil War.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.