AnnieBScotland

By AnnieBScotland

Doors Open

This weekend was Doors Open weekend in New Lanark. The village was one of the first places in Scotland to take part in this initiative, started in the late 1980s.

This is the lounge of New Lanark Mill Hotel. In the late 80s and early 90s I spent several Doors Open Days sitting in this area, freezing in the derelict building telling visitors that one day we hoped to convert the building into a hotel. This was achieved and the Hotel opened its doors in 1998. I am still amazed every time I walk into this area, and it is very satisfying to know that the hotel continues to flourish. There was a wedding today, hence the floral decoration at the bottom of the stairs.

My friends and I enjoyed lunch with my two daughters in the Hotel Bar, the girls haven't seen Fran and Richard since they were small so it was a lovely reunion.

I was able to take my visitors into some of the other buildings not normally open, a nice finale to their visit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.