Five things

By fivethings

Number one; The Larch

1. I spot this on my way home from the station. It looks sprayed on this doorway. It struck me as a little unusual.

2. First off it reminds me a bit of a Smiths t shirt. I've been thinking a lot about the Smiths recently.

3. But it strikes me as I walk up the hill that it what it actually reminds me of are the posters the bands in Girvan when I was a teenager used to have. They were what you might call 'homages' to that style of print.

4. There was The Larch and the Girlfriends and Sur and Salvador and Jamie and the Magic Torch. All made up from the same pool of friends, all putting on and plugging gig nights in the Hamilton Ballroom or the Swee. All with their eyes on the prize - a gig in King Tuts. only one of them made it, but still...

5. Once in, I have a rummage through the - as yet unpacked - box of tapes from that era. Not so much their music (not much of that exists) but the music round that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.