A path less trod

It was a lazy start after a poor nights sleep - but I knew I still wanted to get IntotheHills.
Parked at Grisedale by 11 I made a fast pace up the valley and then freestyled my way up Nethermost Beck and into the Cove. Its a wild seldom visited place - and shrouded in cloud it was both peaceful and a little ethereal. Distant ghostly voices drifted down from the hordes I knew were above me on Striding Edge - but as expected I saw only Wheatears, Skylarks and a Kestrel.
Coffee break over I headed across and made my way up the East Ridge of Nethermost Pike - a route Ive only taken as a full on Winter climb. Then it was borderline terrifying, banked steeply with precipitous drops - I was keen to see if my memory had played tricks and how it felt in dry summer conditions. Wispy cloud pushed through from 700m upwards - but the ridge still looks implausible - im reality all but the last 50ft is just a complex, steep walk - I hit the summit having crossed the only serious rocky ridge - just as the cloud started to lift and break.
From here I made my way across to Dollywaggon  stopping to watch the rescue helicopter on Striding Edge half a mile or so away - edit - Ive just found out it was a 4hr rescue for a lady who fell 30ft- i saw the helicopter make at least 4 tries, a difficult day.
Atop High Crag I briefly chatter to a group of walkers having a rest (just visible in this shot) and told them not to follow my route - they commented on how the sharp wind had picked up - "ah, that'll be from the helicopter rotors" said I. "Of course, makes sense" they replied. I gave them a hearty smile and set off down The Tongue. Again implausible looking became steeply simply fun. Once out of the wind I stopped awhile in a glorious spot to enjoy what turned out to be the last of the days sun - thats also where I took todays blip.

In extras are;
An oh so rare selfie - I seldom like pics of me and I like this, so it makes the grade.
And;
A collage which shows some highlights of the two ridges.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.