Life on the edge...

By bru22

Day 28 - Time for change

Today, we woke up at Rik and Christine's in Izegem, Belgium. They offer bands more than B and B, they took us into their family home and were absolute gems!!!

We travelled to Gent where we couldn't busk so continued our journey to Kartijk where we performed a small set on the street. Although the audience wasn't huge it was actually a great spot, lots of surrounding shops buying our CD's and having a great time. One shop even jammed open it's windows in the rooms above the shop to let the music in!

We travelled to the nearest McDonald's to have our weekly "dirty laundry" meeting where everyone airs their problems, positive or negative. A chance to let of steam.

One of the first issues that was brought up was Graham and I's diets... Which I 100% understand why, your diet effects your work, especially as a musician... Stamina is the key and on a crap diet is tough. I suppose it maybe hurt me more than it should have because I 100% believe I haven't let it effect my playing. My rocking out and performing and general vibe has improved so much and I'll stick by that unless someone can prove me wrong.

Anyway, the positive that came from my little shutdown/break down in the meeting that, after 7/8 even more years of struggling and battling with my diet.. Maybe now is the time, for change. Some of the band have a lot of knowledge on musicians lifestyles and diets... More to the point being healthy... So to add to the mountain of experience and positive things I am getting out of this once in a lifetime opportunity in my hands, I've decided to lap up the chance to get healthy again. I've tried copious amounts of times to go it alone and failed, doctors pump me with medication and the dietician I saw was useless...

So... Maybe a little help from my friends (the band) a bit of balls, maybe now I can do it...

Wish me luck...

Time for change...

Even the water in Belgium has my name written all over it...

Plan - slowly introduce healthier foods into my diet, drink more water and after my break in 12 sleeps time (which will give my body a chance to adjust to cold turkey - pass the chance for migraine to hit) I'll start the second part of this tour with a healthier head on...

"If you always do what you've always done, you will always get what you've always got"
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.