Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Otago Peninsula

The Otago Peninsula is a sinuous, hilly sliver of land that juts out into the sea and forms a natural harbor of which Dunedin sits at the bottom. It is a wildlife lovers paradise close to the city.

Sea lions and fur seals haul out on the beaches, blue and yellow eyed penguins nest in the bush, and the only mainland albatross colony in NZ alights from the open ocean at Taroa Head at the top of the peninsula. Laced by windy roads and speckled with gorgeous rural scenery it is a place I've been hungering to explore on a sunny Sunday afternoon just like this one.

Long walks down white sand beaches, curvy country roads in the mystery mobile, communing with the seals: all things that I won't forget. What a lovely day. I think the most memorable though was the simple joy my day began with here at harbour cone, a tall conical hilltop. I hiked through sheep pastures over the sea to the summit and simply basked like I haven't done since I arrived in delicious warm sunshine. I lounged on a weathered tree trunk meditating on the view and nibbling on a chocolate bar.

I watched quietly as a young stoat (weasel) bounded through the pasture grass unaware until right upon me and we observing one another curiously up close. I peered down on Australasian harrier hawks soaring over the meadows. And squinted out on the deep blue sea as white streaks of waves broke on the beach far below. It was just what I needed to center myself. Day-tripping towards zen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.