Best and worst

Jude Law was the very best "Hamlet" I have ever seen when he appeared in the West End a few years ago. I don't say that lightly. For me he outshone David Tennant, Michael Sheen, John Simm and even, all those years ago, David Warner at the RSC.

He's a brilliant actor, even in a dreadful production like "Obsession" at the Barbican this afternoon. Both my friends said it was the worst theatre production they'd ever seen.

I'd read the awful reviews but reckoned I could watch Jude Law for a couple of hours. Actually, I thought he was excellent this afternoon as well. At one point he just stood in silhouette with his back to us, against a screen of waves : I thought he was so expressive. My friends didn't agree.

But I confess laughing out loud along with others at moments that were just so bad.

My little illegal blip was of the set as we waited in anticipation......

But it was still a great day out with two good friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.