Woody

Another outdoorsy day. This morning Kyla and I joined the Easy Riders for a 25- mile charity cycle ride starting and ending at Alice Holt, going through some beautiful Hampshire/Surrey villages and countryside...and up some nasty hills. I'm definitely not as cycle fit as I have been but I made it round and it was a nice morning out - and we got a medal to add to our collections.

After a rest this afternoon, Mr DawnAgain and I headed over to Woolbeding to see the lambs, who were gambolling yet again. However, Mr DA's eagle eyes spotted a pair of greater spotted woodpeckers and their nest so we spent quite some time (between two and three hours) sitting on the river bank waiting for them to return to the nest. At one point the Belties came over to check us out. Given my previous run-ins with said breed of cows I was somewhat anxious but we found that standing up and looking them in the eye did the trick and they went on their way...both times. Another time I looked behind me and I could see some lambs gambolling so I nipped over to get some photos. Needless to say, this is the point at which both woodpeckers, in turn, returned to the nest and Mr DA got some great shots of them re-emerging through the hole. Grrrrrr.

We also met a fly fisherman who was looking for trout but hadn't seen any. Oh and we saw another kingfisher!! Two in two days! All in all, a very pleasant way to pass a few hours on a spring evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.