1day>1week>1month>1year

By cowgirl

Whoops!

Once again I was on the way to the farm when I passed Emma going the other way towing the horsebox behind her, so I turned around and joined her at the show.

Her fiancé Adam was there too, and whilst I was faffing around getting a warmer jumper and the camera out, chatting to him, I locked my keys in the boot of my car!

It was all a bit of a rush getting Emma and Jack ready as their class was already running. Meanwhile, Adam was trying to contact Sav via Facebook as he didn't have his phone number.

Jack was a bit skittish but seemed to settle once in the ring, until the final double, where it all went a bit wrong and Emma very nearly fell off. If you look closely, she's barely in the saddle and has lost her stirrups ( i.e. feet not in them ). My heart was in my mouth! Luckily she managed to get back in control.

She entered the next class and do a perfect double clear, just not fast enough to be placed. The fact she'd got round in one piece was enough for all of us!

Meanwhile, Adam was now Googling " how to break into a Vauxhall Astra "!

Emma gave me her phone, but she had Sav's old number, so that was no good! However, I found a message he had sent her about 3 years ago, in which he'd included his phone number, so I was finally able to call him and get him to bring the spare key over. Phew!

When it came to Nelson's turn, we had a class before his to calm down and breath. Just as he entered the ring, I heard Sav's motorbike so I ran to the lorry park to try to stop him coming to the car park as non-horse vehicles park separately, right beside the show jumping ring. His bike makes a lot of noise and I didn't want him scaring any horse, let alone Nelson.

When I got back ringside, Nelson had just finished ( 4 faults for knocking a pole off ) and was just approaching the entrance/exit gate. The next horse was already in, luckily, as Nelson stopped to have the biggest wee of his life! The next horse had completed the course by the time he finished and they both exited together!!!

Coffee back at Team T H.Q. ( the farm! ) and then home for a cat nap before attending a dinner for mum's friend's 80th.

Very nice meal and nice to meet his family - his daughters convinced me we should have cocktails after dinner! I think we should have more family gatherings with them!!

I had such a good nights sleep after all the excitement and fresh air - I slept nearly 10 hours!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.