Bumbling Bumble Bee

It was my birthday today - but I wanted a low key day so did not arrange to do anything or see anyone! I spent the morning on the allotment digging the fiendish bed, disturbing the two ant nests once more.One I simply  dug out in a big clod of earth and put somewhere else! The other one the ants had already moved their eggs and just ran around frantically! 
I then had fun photographing the poppies and this bumble bee came to the poppy I was focusing on - only it misjudged it's landing and then attempted to force its way through the petal to the centre! What a bumbling Bumble Bee! It finally flew up and down into it! I did enjoy watching its determined antics! 
I spent the afternoon in the cool of the kitchen on the sofa with Milkshake and listened to a Radio 4 play. At some point we fell asleep and I'm not sure which one of us did so first!
I'd had a call from my canadian aunt - she had set her alarm for 3 in the morning so as to catch me before I went to the allotment! My sister also called and said she had told her the previous day that is what I had planned! I had bought nice things to eat from Morrisons wednesday, including a mini birthday cake, and had cards to open and presents from Vegan Jo and Colourful Mai that I had kept to open from our pre-birthday events together! I also had some things I had bought myself and had similarly kept to open on this day - though I had not bought them for this reason! So when I felt like it I opened a card or present during the day.
Last thing was the chicken bedtime -and I played with some glow in the dark stones that I have on my allotment.I change the pattern or spell a word with them as the fancy takes me - today I spelt out my friends name. I felt her absence keenly today. But I still enjoyed my day in a rather unbirthday sort of way! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.