Vive la Vie

By gillybxl

Feeling Fabulous at Forty!

I woke up this morning to gifts, balloons and cuddles. I've been so spoilt! After breakfast we packed up and drove back to Brussels.

Hubby wanted to prepare a special meal for us all and bake me a cake. Yes, he wanted to bake me a cake as I always make cakes for the rest of the family but I never get one. I chose the recipe and made sure we had all the ingredients for a gluten free carrot cake and icing...but admittedly I was nervous about the final result! In order to give him time and space to prepare the rest of us caught the train into town to see the flower carpet at the Grand Place. It happens every two years so I was lucky that it fell this year. It was busy but it was fantastic and I got some lovely photos.
Back home Neil had done an amazing job and as we tucked into a chicken tarragon dish and cracked open a bottle of newly acquired champagne, I reflected how perfect my 40th birthday was with my lovely family. The cake, complete with sparklers was delicious  and I really couldn't have asked for more.
Being forty doesn't phase me at all. I feel fitter and happier than I have ever probably been. My 20s were full of adventure and self discovery, my 30s were amazing as I embraced married life and having children and now entering my 40s fills me with excitement for what lies ahead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.