Canon Can

By Trotter

Ringtail possum...

Amazing day today. It's had it's highs, followed by some lows, then a few more highs!!

I started off in surgery which was all fairly routine except for the emergency poisoning case that came over from the local emergency centre - she seems to be doing fine so that's all good. Then I had a really difficult anaesthesia case which tested my nerves, frayed them a bit, then let them settle again.... damn sedation!!! By now I was feeling pretty low, as I'm still finding my feet in a new clinic, with new nurses in a new country. It was then that an owner decided to call, for no other reason than to say thank you for everything I had done for her cat, over a week ago. She's a very elderly feline friend who so nearly was put to sleep last week but now has a spring in her step and is feeling great, all as a result from some tweeking of medication and a little bit of pain relief. This is why I'm a vet!

We then had to do some work for the Melbourne police before my little possum came in. She's fine and will be re-released tomorrow after a good feed and a nights rest in the warm.

Now I have three days off and plenty planned.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.