Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

On the Way to Work

This may be one of the last of this kind of image.........

only because I announced at work today that I would be leaving on Friday after 29 years at the Council.  

I've decided to have a change of direction, a fresh start, try something different.  I've loved working at South Staffordshire, but with all of the changes currently taking place and the need to re-structure (It would be my 6th such change in my time at the Council), I made the decision and am taking the opportunity to move on.  I haven't currently got anything else to move on to, but I'm sure I won't be idle for long.  I know my wife is already making a long list of things for me to do if I get bored!

I was surprised to find that I hadn't had a change of contract since I joined the council in 1988.  That was 5 Chief Executives ago, and it is difficult to remember all of the colleagues that have come and gone in that time.  Substantively, I have the same role that I was appointed to all of those years ago, but to say that doesn't really reflect the changes that have taken place over the years.  Technology has moved on; we didn't have a single computer in the office in 1988, I now have three personally assigned to me.  My duties have developed and widened, but inherently the job remains about helping people, problem solving, protecting the environment and I hope I can say that the area is better for the small part I have been able to play over the years.

It'll be a funny few days as I count down to Friday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.