OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Picasso in Stromness

Yesterday was all gales and rain and this morning looked much the same, but then it seemed to brighten. I headed for Stromness because it's a pretty good walk along the shore there in this kind of weather- big waves- and the town can always be retreated to if the conditions become terrible. Also, I wanted to go into the Pier Arts Gallery for an exhibition from Wales of some of the Derek Williams Trust collection. I suppose that's what explains this shot. The walk was good, it stayed dry probably as a result of my wearing waterproofs. Seals were around and the main bird interest was provided by a big group of about 130 gannets blowing around in the big winds and waves. Too far for photos but I am adding some other stuff to flickr.. here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.