Elephant Bertie

A buzzing sound coming from somewhere ...The phone, the doorbell the mobile had been buzzing all day very annoyingly but this was different. 

Very distracted today I hadn't clocked two of Bertie Bott's Beans ( of Harry Potter) the Elephant Hawk Moth chrysalis, emerging! I cannot tell you how excited I was to see these last ten months of care coming to fruition. This is the caterpillar from August, now sitting on my arm. The final chrysalis is emerging as I type this! I have trundled the moths back to where I found them at Kemerton Lake and will do the same with the final one tomorrow. This is Bertie ;)

Not without  a slight trauma it has to be said. One escaped in the conservatory and I had the step ladder, small little ladder, a sieve which wasn't needed and total mayhem with the furniture in trying to retrieve the little one. Managed it and just about to pop it into the flight cage and off it went again!!! Captured and released as near as I could get by the rose-bay willow herb they came off in the fist place. I felt satisfied and pleased I'd done something to help them on their way in life!

All good things must come to an end and so with reluctance I dragged myself away from Rutland and am back in the land of the internet. Will endeavour to catch up but I have to say massive, MASSIVE thank yous to everyone who has checked in on my blips these last days. Thank you so much for the lovely comments, stars and hearts - it's really appreciated. You don't realise how much! 

Huge thank you to uniqueandlovely who has been so great in helping me with her advice on achieving this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.