twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

A school drop off; then onto the bike; 

A quickie at hers (breakfast!!!) and then out west. Onto the Glesga Road; passed the airport onward over the motorway. Into a 'stiff' breeze'. 

A right turn just past the railway bridge; the sweet smell of whisky in the air as I went up past the bonded warehouses; and onto the canal towpath. It's flat - and more importantly - out of the wind. I chuntered on at a steady lick; to Polmont for a swift descent into Grangemouth where the drizzle abated and the sun popped out. I really must stop and photograph Grangemouth some day. 

But I was getting late for lunch so I ploughed on over the flat lands at Skinflats; the birdsong erupting as the dull roar that is omnipresent in the Central Belt faded to allow larks, swallows, lapwings and oystercatchers to prick up my ears.
Onto the Clackmanananananananananshire Bridge; up through Clackmanan itself and skirted Alloa; another glorious encounter with a bonded warehouse - that sweet sweet smell again. Mmmmmmm

And finally to Muircot; a farm shop where I met the parents for lunch (I was late, they had already dined, so after 78km, I managed to tuck away some roasted tomato and pepper soup with a salmon and cucumber sandwich chaser. And a flat white. 

A pleasant hour of recharging done (the house sale looks set to go through this week - wouldntcha know it - their solicitor has the office in Borough Market - so they've not been able to conclude the deal on their old house at its been cordoned whilst police forensic experts do their stuff)

And homeward - through Fife. A bit of urbex (can you do that in the countryside? - at former colliery at Castlebridge) and the long tedious but offroad path from Devilla to Dunfermiline; liquid and sugar in Dunfermline powered me down the amazing run to Rosyth (I love that bit of road) and onto the FRB; all nose to tail in Friday evening rush hour snarl up.

Through the Ferry and a speedy descent to Cramond; and a flat tail wind assisted romp home at a steady 25kmh. 
139.1 in total; a decent wee work out, back stiff but feeling OK; I did momentarily toy with the idea of a run to Musselburgh and back to get the 100 miles, but... she was waiting for me to come and eat tacos, soooo.. ***Oh - edit - and a KOM...! ***

Quick shower back on the bike (the Giant this time) and dinner, chat, rehydrating with copious (well - 3) beers and then home. 

Dear reader, I slept soundly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.