All by myself

We went back to see Colin the cuckoo this afternoon and he dropped in for a ridiculous hour and a half! It was just us and another guy who, fortunately, had a perch and some grubs with him so we had a great time just watching Colin and taking photos. One thing I've noticed is that he has learnt that, when he's run out of grubs to eat, he flies up into one of the trees on the edge of the field and starts to call. Then, if one of the photographers gets up and puts a few more grubs on the ground, as soon as he goes back to his camera Colin flies back down to one of the perches (usually the highest) to begin his perching and eating routine again. He's a very clever bird!

He's also in danger of over-exposure so here's a picture of a baby rabbit that was just sitting in the middle of the lane on the way back from the common this morning (having yet again taken a diversion to avoid the cows). It hopped off into the undergrowth after I took this and I gather its parents will have returned at some point later. I looked into this afterwards as I was worried: its seems that rabbits are somewhat negligent parents and I believe I did the right thing by leaving it there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.