MORE PARK LIFE

I had a lovely afternoon break in the Park today. I came across a family of four baby wrens sunning themselves in a quiet corner, with a frantic parent yelling at them and me from a nearby bush, even though I promised her I wasn't going to harm them. They were tiny - look how small this one is compared to the grass. I saw a bullfinch - my first sighting there, although it didn't stay around for a photo. There are two more muscovy ducks, which I hope last longer than the previous couple who met a horrible fate in the shrubbery, and there were lots of newly hatched ducklings scooting around on the pond which seemed to be attracting (cue Jaws theme) the subject of my extra - which was as long as an adult duck - and its pals. They're never normally in evidence, so I'm not holding out much hope for the ducklings, what with the gulls, the geese and a lot of bachelor drakes as well. Oh, and there were some chocolate cakes in the café... apparently!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.