Jeanettie6

By Jeanettie6

The Great River Race

I wasn't sure what to do today, but noticed the Great River Race was on, starting from Docklands and ending up in Richmond, so thought 'that would be rather pleasant to watch!' Docklands is closest to me, but any excuse to go to Richmond for the day, especially on a sunny day like today!

I secured my 'watching spot' (trying to find a bird dropping-free bit of river bank to sit on, but ended up sitting on a carrier bag..very classy) and sat for a couple of hours in the lovely sunshine watching the rowers row go past..and what a long way to row..21 miles I believe! Very well done I thought, as I sat lazily eating ice cream, dangling my legs and swishing my feet in the Thames as it got higher and higher). I decided to get up and go for a walk before I was swept into the Thames and had a word with the lovely Petersham Meadow cows, walked along to the finish line at Ham then, reluctantly, made my way home on an extremely packed train where I was crushed like a beetle!

I hope you have all had a lovely day too!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.