Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Teasing the light

Today is the hottest day of the year so far - 33.9C in London and the same here. This is now officially the hottest summer in decades, beating the famous 1976 record which everyone still talks about.

I went out quite early to photograph what was growing in the hedgerows but could not stay out for long as it was so hot there with no breeze. I came home and watched a bit of the Queen's Speech - such a momentous day for the country as the government outline their proposals. The one that really annoys me is the grammar school issue. I won't go into it here but since when has education, whose sole purpose I believe to be the imparting of knowledge, become a vehicle of social engineering to be fought over by politicians.

Our last camera group meeting tonight - this term we have done abstract photography which is not my thing so I am looking forward to moving on to another topic next term.

Thomas has now finally finished exams - he completes his work experience week this week and then goes back to school for the last week on Monday, when they have the induction in to 6th form - and many hours of orchestra rehearsals for the end of term concerts.

I rather liked these backlit teasels in the sunshine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.