Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Jobs done!

A day of activity, some of it frenzied, for all of us. JR kept up her manic activity levels by going to the gym, having her hair cut, then back to clean every window, mirror, clock face and ledge in the house. (It's a bit like house swapping, because friends are staying in our house while we're away next week, so the place has to be spick and span.) Oh, and in between times, she whipped up a meringue for visitors on Friday, and also made a roast meal. Superwoman!

I moved about a bit more than of late, though didn't make it to the gym. I popped up to the doctor. A couple of nights ago I had terrible earache, but it seemed to disappear during the day. Then I got a few dizzy spells. A couple of them last night, while lying still in bed, were whizzers - I had to hold on to the edge of the bed! It's a virus, and will run its course, but I've got some pills to take. And the doctor said 'No housework'.

I watched the Queen at Parliament. Funny little traditions they have! Then I took a notion to clear out my clothes and shoes. I have so much stuff that I just don't/can't/never will wear. It's a job I've been meaning to do for years! I had an IKEA bag full of shoes, many of them worn very few times, or even -once!

While I was sorting out my shoes, my shoe cabinet, which I assembled with much gnashing of teeth three years ago, seemed to suddenly come apart. The whole thing, which is tall and narrow, had bowed out slightly, so that the knobs holding each tilting drawer had slipped out of their sockets. No worries - I got a couple of wedgy shaped bits of firewood and hammered them in between the cupboard and the wall. Doesn't look very professional, but it works.

I took two big bags down to the charity shop, then took Archie up the hill. I took the ball thrower, which Archie goes crazy about, and sat on the bench waiting for some folk to pass by - he could not contain himself. Just a pity that he doesn't bring the ball back, but sits and chews it, while I have to walk down the hill and retrieve it. We eventually lost the ball in the gorse, but it wasn't worth saving, being flat as a pancake.

When we came back a former colleague and neighbour popped in. I haven't seen him for ages, and sure enough, he'd been in hospital, so we compared our experiences. We both agreed that hospital custard was good.

Managed to watch some tennis. So many great young players! Makes it much more interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.