Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Gardening

More jobs done today - I even managed quite a bit of activity, not even counting my half hour on the bike.

Anne came to take Archie out to play with the ball thrower, and here he's at the 19th hole, gasping for a drink, like golfers everywhere.

His absence meant I was able to do a bit of gardening and path washing while listening to my audio book (Everest 1953 - the true story of the first ascent). I attacked a bamboo bush, which is taking over more of the garden daily. And I dead-headed the big bunch of daisies which was quite a job. But it looks a lot better now, though I really need to get started the hedge - long bits are sprouting up, which is really annoying, but they just need the clippers. There's a bit at the end which needs a good seeing to, but I can't climb up on to the shed, so JR will have to do it (when she has a spare moment).

JR went shopping for supplies - the tour guide rang yesterday to warn us that Norway is very expensive, and that we should maybe bring some 'snacks'. Good idea, but perhaps they've been bought a day or two early, they may need replenishing by next week. Oh, and there are midges!

I had a few dizzy spells, but mainly when I've been sitting down, so no worries. And I did manage to watch tennis in my rest periods, which were frequent.

We're watching 'Riviera', which has had great reviews, but it's pretty hopeless. We only watch it because it's filmed in Nice, and we recognise some of the scenes, though not, of course, the ones of the posh interiors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.