Giving this a go...

By Debiives

4 out of 4

What a great day for British cycling. Overall winner of Tour of Britain- check. King of the mountains- check. Sprint title- check. Stage winner- check.

Last day of the Tour of Britain and the cyclists were riding from Reigate to Guildford. It was a figure of 8ish and they rode up the cobbled high street in Guildford twice. I was volunteering as a marshal which was good but did mean I didn't see much when they came up the hill to the finish. The crowds were huge and I obviously couldn't really stand in front of people. It wasn't too bad the first time they passed and I managed to get this photo with Cavendish in it (with Cameron's small camera as I wasn't really meant to have a camera) but second time round all I saw was heads and didn't see that Cavendish was at the front. Ross and the boys were at the front so they saw it and I recorded the highlights.

I did see Cav close up at the end though when I was handing my high vis jacket back. He was about a foot away from me (and lots of others- there was quite a crowd) trying to push his baby daughter through the crowds.

A good day but my feet ached after standing still for 7 hours!

(Cavendish is in the white top)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.