Cooking Class

I was wandering around shopping center after coffee morning. None of the shops had opened yet but I noticed activity inside the Sur La Table where a kid's cooking class was in progress. I couldn't go inside to eliminate the intense reflections on the big glass window because they weren't open yet, but I managed to press my phone up to the glass for this shot. Some kids were so small they had to stand on stools and they all had on red aprons. For some reason the blind shot and the resulting busyness of the picture sort of appealed to me.

I decided to pass on Flower Friday today but I heard a story on the radio as I was driving to class that seemed both ironic and appropriate. In an effort to give Columbian coca farmers another way to make money,  the US Government sent millions of dollars worth of subsidies if they switched to growing flowers. Today, most of the flowers in supermarkets come from Columbia, and cheap labor and low tariffs effectively wiped out the California flower market. Greenhouses are falling down and flower fields are fallow all over the Southern California fields.

In an effort to help the California flower farmers, the government is now subsidizing the growing of marijuana if it is grown in the greenhouses. So let's see. subsidize the coca farmers in Columbia to grow flowers, then subsidize the ruined California flower growers to grow dope! Did I get that right? 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.