Country Road...

...seen through a haze of heat. LaCrema Winery has acres of vineyards along this road and the planting of the frontage next to it is really mixture of Cana lilies, grasses, guara, and some other tall plants, but such a long narrow frontage resists photographing, especially since the road there is also lined with power poles. I think its lack of pretension is  one reason this particular stretch of road appeals to me.

The thermometer was pushing 40 degrees when I took this picture. Power cuts are feared as everybody turns on their air conditioning. The pools are crowded and people are going to shopping malls and movie theaters to cool off. Snoopy's Home Ice, the skating rink founded by Charles Schulz is doing a brisk business because it is the coolest place in town.My friend Tobi puts out ice packs for her chickens to sit on, and OilMan is hand watering the garden twice a day. 

There is a certain stillness that falls over things when it is this hot that appeals to me. Usually there are trucks driving up the road behind us, someone is mowing or plowing or sawing, and a dog is barking in the distance. Cars can be heard on Highway 12 a mile down the road. Not even the hot tub is turning on at it's appointed hour as the concept is unappealing and we turned it off. The only sound I hear now is the distant hum of the afternoon flight to Seattle as it climbs to its cruising altitude above our house.

I think I can also hear Ozzie and OilMan both snoring gently....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.