Sporty selfie

I've spent a lot of hours playing, coaching and watching basketball.  I played all through school, then played senior women's and master's ball.  If we hadn't moved to Salt Spring, I might still be playing!  Commuting to the big island for work meant long days, and there was no team on this island, so my playing days were over.  I still love to shoot hoops and play the occasional game of HORSE if someone wants to take me on.  I've added an extra that I cropped for the main blip - evidence that there really is a hoop I was about to shoot at!  Swish!  Wish I could blip that.  I've still got the touch.  ;)
Lots of great basketball memories:  playing in high school, senior women's and master's provincial tournaments; going on a 105-2 games won/lost streak with the junior high team I coached for grades 8-10 (what a team that was! Maybe it was a 102-5 streak - will have to ask our daughter); coaching our daughter from elementary all the way through high school; playing on a senior women's team with our daughter; playing on an alumni team against her when she played university ball - and getting stuffed by her (she does have 6 inches on me); helping G coach his senior boys' teams and scrimmaging with them; playing on a men's team with G against one of those Harlem Globetrotters spin-offs; playing on a men's team with him in a tournament; going to Chicago with our daughter to watch Kalyn and her club team play in a huge Nike tournament.  I loved practicing and going through all the drills, even loved running lines, loved playing defence.  I was an average player but that didn't stop me from having a lot of fun.  I coached a lot of fantastic kids and played with many great teammates who became good friends.  I love the game.
 
Message for Kalyn:  yes, I USED to be an athlete, as you told me once, and so did your Gramps, your mum and your dad.  It's up to you now to be the all star in the family.  And I know you just chose volleyball so you and I could have something else to argue about other than the correct pronunciation of Brie.  You'll never convince me that volleyball's the better game!  :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.