Flying Fish

Although, I'd be willing to bet it's not flying because it wants to.

Osprey mystery:  My bird book says they dive into the water feet first which makes a lot of sense.  However, "my" osprey appears to be diving head first and that goes against everything I've read.  I'm having a really hard time keeping the bird in my viewfinder as he dives and  I find it nearly impossible to know exactly where he's going to hit the water so I can focus on that spot in an attempt to get a picture at the exact moment he dives.  I have a couple of extremely blurred pictures which are so bad they don't clarify the situation.  I've watched very closely and I'd swear he's diving head first but he comes back up so fast that it would seem impossible for him to grab a fish, turn around and then come out of the water.  I'm going to enlist the aid of my blip buddy Mary Jo.  Maybe two of us shooting at the same time can solve the problem and get an answer.  Two blippers are better than one, right?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.