What a Lovely Surprise

I was down at the lake this afternoon, when a couple walked towards me saying, "A Cycling Granny'!!   What a lovely surprise.  It was none other than V1k1, and E from Richmond at the 'Top 'O the South'.   Seeing our famous tree was in the vicinity, we just had to get a blip there.  That's Mt Iron in the background.  Nice that the sun came out just at the right moment.  We wandered along the lake front and had a nice drink at the local restaurant.  Wishing you a safe journey on to Queenstown, and I am sure the wedding will go very well.  It was super to meet you both.

I had morning tea with my photography friends, maybe I will be up at the Snow Farm on Saturday, (weather permitting).

Blip No. 1948

NZ news 1948

As there was a Polio epidemic at the time, the schools were closed, and the children did their lessons by correspondence.  I loved going to the letter box to get the mail, I found the lessons were far easier than in the class room.  I don't know how long the schools were closed for.
A suburb of Hamilton (Frankton) experienced a tornado.  My Uncle rang to say a sheet of corrugated iron had ended up in their back yard..  I read a report that one house was lifted off its foundations, and ended up across the road, and turned back to front, with the family still in it.  It happened during the school holidays.
My family moved once again, this time to a dairy farm at Rototuna, on the outskirts of Hamilton.  (Extra 1)  All the land in this photo have houses on them now.  Our house is in the foreground.  I changed schools once again, this time attending Fairfield Primary.  We biked to school, (extra 2), it was just over 2 miles.  I spent the rest of my Primary school days there.


The Olympic games were held in London, with 7 competitors from NZ.  We were one of the 22 nations that didn't win a medal!!

Famous NZers born in 1948

Dayle Hadlee, cricketer  :  Billy T James, comedian  :  Richard Prebble, politician  :  John Clarke, actor, best known in NZ for Fred Dagg  :  
Peter Blake, yachtsman.  He was instrumental in NZ winning the Americas Cup way back in 1995.  He always wore red socks, which became popular among the yachting fans.  Even on Monday our Prime Minister was wearing red socks during the racing in Bermuda.  Peter was murdered in Brazil in 2001  :  
Lockwood Smith, politician  :  Sue Kedgley, politician  :  Grahame Sydney, Artist.

World news 1948

Israel became a nation.
Phillips began experimental TV broadcasts.
ABC TV network debuts
Al Jolson voted most popular male vocalist. 
 
Top Pop songs
Twelfth St Rag, Pee Wee Hunt  :  Now is the Hour, Bing Crosby  :  I'm Looking over a 4 leaf clover, Art Mooney  :  Buttons and Bows, Dinah Shore.

Famous people born in 1948

Olivia Newton John (68), Pop Singer  :  Charles, Prince of Wales, (68), Royalty  :  Billy Crystal, (69), Movie Actor  :  Donna Summer, Pop singer  :  Al Gore, (69), Politician  :  Andrew Lloyd Webber, (69), composer  :  Lulu, (68), Pop Singer

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.