Mahdii's wedding

Mahdii was my first student when I started work here almost four years ago. It was only him and Merna in a class which was closed almost immediately because of numbers. But they found me in my double-up class.

I think I've written about him before, but needless to say, one of my favourites, with a big, kind heart.

I was very pleased to be invited to his wedding, and pleased to meet his wife too; she seems very sweet.

A very family friendly atmosphere on the houseboat, and despite them being 90 minutes late (normal here) it was fun. I sat on the roof deck in the breezy Nile air waiting for them. I didn't know anyone, and the only person who spoke to me in limited English asked me why I was there. I showed her the photo and all was good.

It was the usual wedding, with signing of papers and lots of dancing. The boat then cruised the Nile for an hour while the bride and groom sat alone on the deck for a bit of time together and to eat (as is done).

When the boat docked, we said goodbye and I was happy to still be here to have attended. I did have a secret wish that he and Merna would get married, but I think Sara is a better match.

I chose this picture because of their pose, and for the blue thumb, both had to seal their document with a thumbprint.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.