Monday: Fading Blooms

A few weeks ago we decided that, unusually for us, we weren't going to go anywhere over the long weekend and we would just stay put and enjoy ourselves locally. It turned out to be a very wise decision - I'm feeling nicely rested and caught up on sleep.

This morning we headed to 'Canadian Tire' to buy a trimmer for our grass at the front. Our house is rented for us by my employer and, as part of that contract, we are supposed to have a gardener. Turns out our gardener only comes twice a year which is not nearly enough. We'll do what we can ourselves while we try and sort something out. In the meantime, the roses are now past their best.

We were going to do yet another bike ride today but, in the end, opted against.
----------------------------------------------------------------

This morning, I finished 'New Grub Street' by George Gissing - absolutely loved it. Perhaps it stands to reason given that my favourite author is George Orwell, and George Gissing was his favourite author. I wonder who George Gissing's favourite author was - perhaps I can just keep working my way backwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.