Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Norway Day Seven

An early breakfast this morning - 6.30! Though the little man in a chef's hat who did the fruit counter didn't seem to know this arrangement. I made a beeline for the bowls of melon, pineapple and grapes (no snow peas this morning!) but he said the weren't ready, when they plainly were ready. And I wasn't to touch them YET. On enquiring when they would indeed be 'ready', he said ’6.45’, and put the big bowls of fruit away under the counter. Officious little nerd.

My barista Viking was happy to serve coffees at 6.30, and so I had a lovely flat white and awaited the magic hour of 6.45am. In fact, I went and hovered around him later, and he anticipated my need of a second flat white. Good man.

The pancake maker person in chef's hat started churning them out, and I accidentally had two. I also cut two doorstop slices of bread, slapped a piece of cheese between them and popped them into my bag for lunch later. Yum!

Today we travelled from Trondheim to Oslo, a journey of about five hours, which was very scenic, but we hopped off and took the even more scenic railway (the famous Rauma Line to Åndalsnes and back. I took dozens of photos, and deleted most of them. We saw the Trollveggen - the Troll Wall, where the the trolls turned into mountains when exposed to the sunlight. That can't be true, because you see them out in the sunshine absolutely everywhere.

We arrived in Oslo about 8pm, and checked in to our very flash hotel (The Grand), which is too flash to dine in, so we walked down as a group to the waterfront for a meal. I am SO looking forward to breakfast here. Will they serve pancakes? Will they have proper coffee? A wee bit of rain on the way back, which made for nice photos.This made it a very late night, I am very tired - I think we all are. This holiday lark is exhausting!

My knees are quite sore (a combination of sitting for hours, then walking faster than my normal to keep up with the group) so I anticipate just a few gentle trolls strolls tomorrow. Perhaps including my first Norwegian beer...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.