Another day, another funeral

Sadly today, after morning meetings, I had to head to Monzie just north of Crieff for another funeral. This was for Frances Davidson, aged 92, a great friend in recent years of my mother and someone I had got to know on our various visits and stays with her. We were also related through my cousin's wife.

Frances grew up in the same Irish town as my mother. Like her she was a nurse; moved to Edinburgh; met her husband there; had two sons; and settled in and loved Scotland. But never forgot their Irish roots.

Some of my and her Irish relatives were over, as were also present those of the family living in Scotland. It emphasised to me the bonds we have across the Irish Sea. My own mother's ancestors moved over from Scotland to Ireland several generations ago.

The service was in Monzie Kirk - a lovely church with some interesting stained glass - and, rarely for me, there was a burial rather than a cremation. Two extras. The not problem were the midgies!

Then off to Crieff for an enjoyable - indeed impressive - "afternoon tea". The blip is of some of the desserts. But amongst other things there were black pudding sausage rolls. Very tasty!

It was another emotional day but also one that celebrated a gentle life which had contributed much through service, companionship and friendship.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.