A time for everything

By turnx3

Quechee Gorge

Saturday
Not the best of days today! For the second day in succession, we got up at 4.30am to get down to the airport for a 7.30am flight, to find that it had just been cancelled! When Roger goes up to Bromont, which he does most years, he never flies into Montreal, as its so expensive. Instead, he flies to Burlington, Vermont, and drives the rest of the way. In the "good old days", there used to be a direct Comair flight, but nowadays you have to make a connection, and today we were going through La Guardia, N.Y. There are fairly regular flights to La Guardia, but not many Delta flights into Burlington. The next one was full and overbooked, and the earliest they could get us to Burlington was 6.30 pm - at this point it was 7am! So we switched our destination to Manchester New Hampshire, via La Guardia again - getting in at about 1.30 pm. This, of course, gave us a longer drive, but it was quite a nice afternoon, and beautiful scenery. My blip today is of the Quechee Gorge, Vermont's deepest gorge, formed by glacial activity approximately 13,000 years ago. This is taken from the road bridge, looking down at the Ottauquechee River flowing 165 feet below. When we reached our hotel in Montreal, we walked into nearby China town for dinner. When we returned to the hotel, I made the other sad discovery of the day - I had left my Kindle on the second flight. I had taken it out of my bag to use, then realized I would have to turn it off for take-off, so put it in the seat pocket in front of me. I then realized, since it was such a short flight, it wasn't going to be worth using it, but instead of putting it back in my bag at that point, I foolishly left it in the pocket, then forgot about it! I was so mad at myself. We reported it, but, not surprisingly, I haven't heard anything, so I think we can count it as lost. All in all, a very frustrating day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.