In emergency .....

Just back from another brilliant day on Dursey Island. I released Himself into the wild- he's doing the next stretch of the Beara way and will be out hiking for the next three days - then hopped on the cable car and went off in search of wells. If  you remember, TJ and I went a a couple of weeks ago and were slightly thwarted in our searches by a field load of cattle lurking in the well field, actually in the well itself!  Today, the cattle were in another field (and there was a bull, a huge one complete with ring through the nose) which meant I could explore the other field. The well is attached - okay not exceptionally gorgeous to look at , in fact a bit of a cow shitty quagmire but it was once much revered, and interestingly (it is) the two stones in front have cupmarks on them - prehistoric rock art!
I then had to walk the length of the island where another obscure well was mean to lurk. TJ had lent me an old map and Himself thought he might have spotted something on his last visit. Armed with the map I followed an old mossy field boundary heading down towards the sea. To my delight a teeny stream seemed appeared and seemed to be meandering downwards - could this be the well.Yes! Seeping gently out of the rock, another feast for the eyes! Actually the water was clear and someone was using it as there was a pipe. What I loved most was the smell. Everywhere camomile. Rather enthusiastically I sat down and ate my banana in this enchanting perfumed spot and came home with a tick for my troubles - now sorted.

Dursey is a remarkable place, with a melancholy beauty. Now home to only 2 people and so many ruined settlements. A tiny spot of trespass was enjoyed and at one point I was pursued by a tiny misty cloud. See extras.

My main pic, probably not the most artistic, but it made me smile as it sort of sums everything up.Tacked onto the somewhat flimsy wooden walls of the the tiny cable car is a much weathered copy of Psalm 91 with the instructions to read everyday and the assurance that you will be kept safe from all dangers. For added  insurance, next to the first aid kit, there is also a bottle of holy water. I thought we might need it for no soon r had we set off, four of us and a dog, swaying gently above the raging sea, did we stop - and linger mid air for what seemed a little too long - and then we went backwards and collected another two people before proceeding - 6 being the maximum number of passengers.  On my return, I was thrilled to find a fiver lurking in my backpack which meant I could avail of a bag full of chips and a cup of tea from Murphy's caravan. Perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.