Highly Unsprung

By CynicalWench

Retail Therapy of sorts

A day off with kids overtaken by getting stuff done. Shopping with Tess for a wedding reception outfit in the early morning before the hoards arrived in town. We don't like clothes shopping. It's officially boring. But it was grand, she was in banter mode. Our first shop and we spent a grand total of 1 minute walking around pulling faces at the man made fibre colour drained clothes. Sharp exit. Second shop and we just went with what she felt comfortable in...she's not a dress kind of girl...make up oh yes...but dresses...nah. We celebrated with a mango ice cooler at our early shopping success - and accidentally buying blue shoes instead of an outfit - while she candidly brought me up to date on her musings and her world.

I remember being such an awkward 13 year old, she's doing so much better than I did, with a healthy dose of the usual blips and feelings of highs and lows. The teenage world is just as tricky now though, even more so, with all that extra pressure early on about growing up too fast and unrealistic and unwelcome imagery out there, especially for young girls. I was told the other weekend from some parents that she had pulled back an old friend from some serious self destruction and near tragedy in light of a parental break up, I didn't realise she'd stepped in to such an extent or that it had made such a positive difference. I hope she manages to keep the heid in a similar way when life throws up more challenges and folk come and go in need of help. My judgement was way off sometimes as a teenager..

Speaking of being distracted and agitated, I've sworn myself off facebook for a week, from Sunday night to Sunday night, to see if it will make me less distracted and agitated as I'm having trouble concentrating...even more than usual. I'm still blipping though...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.